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March 8, 2021 
 

NOTICE OF 2021 BUSINESS PERSONAL PROPERTY ONLINE TAX FILING 
 

Dear Weber County Business Owner, 
 
In accordance with the provisions set forth under the Revenue and Taxation laws for the State of Utah, taxable business entities are 
required to pay an annual self-assessing Personal Property Tax. Such tax is levied against all personal property assets (i.e. trade fixtures, 
equipment, computers, telephone systems, furniture, tools, signage, etc.) owned and/or used by the "business" as of January 1st of each 
year. 
 
Please refer to your account number and secure pin located above to utilize our online filing system. On the reverse hereof is a detailed 
set of instructions for filing online. Filing online is quick, safe, and efficient. For complete instructions, forms, and payment options, visit 
our website at: www.webercountyutah.gov/Assessor/pproperty.php . Please note: If you are unable to file online, please call our office at 
(801) 399-8572 for assistance. 
 
New for 2021: Utah law states that a business that has filed and qualified for the personal property tax exemption for five (5) consecutive 
years is not required to file a business personal property signed statement with the Assessor’s Office. Please note: The Weber County 
Assessor’s Office will notify you if your business has filed and qualified for the exemption for five (5) consecutive years. 
 
Tax Exempt: A business with an aggregate taxable value of $15,300 or less may be exempt from Personal Property Tax. This exemption 
applies to the total value of all Personal Property owned and/or used by your business in Weber County. If you have more than one 
business location in Weber County under the same business ownership, the exemption is applicable only if the total value of all property 
owned by such entity is less than $15,300. Your application for exemption may only be considered with a completed Signed Statement of 
Personal Property.  Failure to file timely and submit a signed statement may result in a forfeiture of your application for exemption. 

 

Your Signed Statement and tax payment are due on or before May 17, 2021. Past due accounts will be subject to penalty 
and interest at the rate of 7.00% annually. 

 
If your business has closed or you no longer own this business, please complete the online "Business Change Form" found on our website at 
https://www.webercountyutah.gov/Assessor/business_change_form.php . 
 
If you need assistance, please call (801) 399-8572 or visit our office at 2380 Washington Blvd. Suite 380, Ogden, UT 84401.  Our office 
hours are Monday through Friday, 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.  
 
Sincerely,  

 
 
 

John Ulibarri  
Weber County Assessor  

http://www.webercountyutah.gov/Assessor
http://www.webercountyutah.gov/Assessor/pproperty.php
https://www.webercountyutah.gov/Assessor/business_change_form.php
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2021 Personal Property Tax Online Filing Instructions 
 

www.webercountyutah.gov/Assessor/pproperty.php   

 
All businesses are required to submit an annual self-assessing personal property tax filing. The process of filing your business 
personal property tax begins with gathering your records. 

 A complete list of all assets (trade fixtures, equipment, machinery, signage, computers, furniture, etc.) used in connection 

with your business as of January 1, 2021 is needed. This list should include: item description, acquisition year, acquisition 

cost, and quantity.  

 Lease agreements for any equipment being leased or rented, used in connection with your business as of January 1, 2021. 

 The total cost of supplies on hand as of January 1, 2021 (divide the year’s total supply amount by 12). Supplies include 

items such as general office supplies and maintenance supplies. 

Access the Online Personal Property filing system at www.webercountyutah.gov/Assessor/pproperty.php   
Click ‘File Online Business Personal Property’ and refer to your account number and password located on the reverse hereof to log 
in.  

 Filing online is quick, safe, and efficient. 

 First, please verify basic contact and location information. 

 Enter the information on all leased or rented equipment (please do not list registered motor vehicles or land and buildings). 

 Businesses filing for the first time are required to file a full declaration. In subsequent years, your equipment listing from 

the previous year will be available to update. 

 Begin adding your equipment by selecting a correct classification code (refer to the valuation schedules/descriptions if 

unsure), then add the item description, year acquired, quantity, and cost.  

 As you add each piece of equipment to the filing system, it will automatically calculate a taxable value based on the 

classification code chosen.  

 Once all equipment has been entered, your total taxable value and total tax due will be calculated. If the total taxable value 

is $15,300 or less, you will be exempt from payment.   

 Once you proceed to the “Final Steps”, you will electronically sign the Signed Statement for submission. 

 After submitting your filing, be sure to click “Print Return” and retain a copy for your records.  

 If required, electronic payments can be made in the form of an e-check or credit card. A fee of 2.45% ($1.95 minimum) is 

charged on all credit card transactions; Weber County does not receive this fee. 

 If you elect to pay your personal property tax via postal mail, please ensure the payment is postmarked by May 17, 2021 to 

avoid interest. 

Once you have completed the entire online filing process, your filing will be reviewed by a personal property appraiser in our office. 
If any changes are necessary, we will correct them and notify you of any changes.  
 
If you need assistance, please call our office at (801) 399-8572. Office hours are Monday through Friday, 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.  
 

Thank you for using our online filing system. 

http://www.webercountyutah.gov/Assessor
http://www.webercountyutah.gov/Assessor/pproperty.php
http://www.webercountyutah.gov/Assessor/pproperty.php


 

 

PLEASE VERIFY LOCATION ADDRESS 

 

 

ADDRESS INCORRECT? SEE BUSINESS CHANGE FORM 

 

2021 SIGNED STATEMENT OF PERSONAL PROPERTY 
 

 

John Ulibarri • WEBER COUNTY ASSESSOR 
Joseph H. Olsen • CHIEF DEPUTY ASSESSOR 
2380 Washington Blvd. STE 380 Ogden, UT 84401  
Phone: (801) 399-8572 • Fax: (801) 399-8308   

www.webercountyutah.gov/Assessor/pproperty.php  

 
 

 
 
  
 
 
 
 
 
 

 

OFFICE USE ONLY 

Line 1: Supplies – Enter the cost of supplies. ________________________  (1) 

Line 2: Equipment – Enter Grand Total from Schedule D  ________________________  (2) 

Line 3: Total of lines 1 and 2 rounded to the nearest dollar. 
If the total on line 3 is $15,300 or less, STOP, do not calculate the tax at this time,  
sign form below. DO NOT DEDUCT $15,300. 

________________________  (3) 

Line 4: Tax Rate – IMPORTANT NOTE: If the business location has changed during the 
past year, please call (801) 399-8572 for the correct tax rate. 

________________________  (4) 

Line 5: Tax Amount Due – Line 3 multiplied by Line 4.       ________________________  (5) Tax Due 

Make check payable to: Weber County Assessor, 2380 Washington Blvd. STE 380, Ogden, UT 84401 
PLEASE NOTE: FILING AND PAYMENT DUE DATE IS MAY 17, 2021 

 
I do swear that this signed statement reflects a full, true, and correct account 
of all personal property within Weber County, Utah, subject to taxation 
which was owned, possessed, managed, or controlled by me at 12 o’clock 
noon on January 1, 2021, that no property has been transferred out of 
Weber County or disposed of for the purpose of avoiding any assessment.   
Unsigned statements will be returned and will be subject to interest and/or 
penalty if delayed. If your business qualifies for exemption from property tax 
based on the value detailed and listed herein, your signature on this 
statement of personal property is required. You are certifying that the 
taxable value of all tangible personal property owned by the legal entity 
listed above is $15,300 or less. This application for exemption is not official 
until granted by the Board of Equalization. This form will be submitted to the 
board on your behalf by the Assessor. This exemption is determined by 
ownership. If you have tangible personal property at different locations, and 
you file more than one personal property statement, the total value of all 
tangible personal property at all locations will determine exemption 
eligibility. 

 
Any Taxpayer dissatisfied with the taxable value may appeal by 
filing an application no later than May 17, 2021. Appeal forms may 
be obtained from the Weber County Auditor's office, 2380 
Washington Blvd. STE 320 Ogden, UT 84401. 
 
APPEALS MUST BE RECEIVED NO LATER THAN MAY 17, 2021 

CUSTOMER SERVICE: (801) 399-8572 

PLEASE CHECK ONE 

Sole Proprietor 

Partnership 

Corporation 

L.L.C. 
 

Nature of Business:                                                          
                                                              _______             

Federal Tax ID:                                        __                    

Date Opened:                                                                                                               

Does the applicant listed above own property listed on other personal 
property statements at other locations within this County? 

 
Yes [   ] No [   ] If yes, please list the other account numbers in space below. 
 
 

SIGNATURE                                                                                         DATE                                         PHONE 
   REQUIRED                                REQUIRED 



 

John Ulibarri • WEBER COUNTY ASSESSOR 

Joseph H. Olsen • CHIEF DEPUTY ASSESSOR 
2380 Washington Blvd. STE 380 Ogden, UT 84401 

Phone: (801) 399-8572 Fax: (801) 399-8308 

www.webercountyutah.gov/Assessor/pproperty.php 

WEBER COUNTY ASSESSOR 2021 SIGNED STATEMENT OF PERSONAL PROPERTY 
 

SCHEDULE D 
Equipment Description and Value 

List all business furniture, fixtures and equipment owned and/or used in connection with your business 
 

More forms are available on-line @ www.webercountyutah.gov/Assessor/pproperty.php 

See Schedule 

(A) Property Code 

(B) 

Property Description 

(C) 

Year of Acquisition 

(D) 

Original Cost 

(E) 

Quantity 

(D) x (E)= 

(F)  Total Cost 
See Schedule 

(G) Depreciation Rate 

(F) x (G)= 

(H) Market Value 

Examples: Examples only 
150 HP Laptop Computer 2020 1,350 2 2,700 62% 1,674 

155 Software 2019 1,250 2 2,500 44% 1,100 
 Enter Equipment Detail Here: 

  Please indicate the total cost of all "Supplies" (Property Code 100) on Line 1 of the Signed Statement ~ Do not include Supplies Cost and Detail on Schedule D 

        

        

        

        

        

        

        

        

        

        

        

        

        

 

Please enter the total market value of all property on Line 2 of the Signed Statement: Total Market Value:   
 More forms are available online at www.webercountyutah.gov/Assessor/pproperty.php 

http://www.webercountyutah.gov/Assessor/pproperty.php
http://www.webercountyutah.gov/Assessor/pproperty.php
http://www.webercountyutah.gov/Assessor/pproperty.php


 

John Ulibarri • WEBER COUNTY ASSESSOR     Account Number: _________________ 

Joseph H. Olsen • CHIEF DEPUTY ASSESSOR 
2380 Washington Blvd. STE 380 Ogden, UT 84401 

Phone: (801) 399-8572 Fax: (801) 399-8308 

www.webercountyutah.gov/Assessor/pproperty.php 

 

LEASED OR RENTED EQUIPMENT 
List itemized leased or rented equipment below. DO NOT transfer any totals to the signed statement. 

Note: If your equipment is considered a “Conditional Sale Lease”, make sure it has previously been reported or listed on the schedule A                
in the equipment acquired area. You are required to list and pay taxes on this equipment as if it were owned by you. 

 
NAME AND ADDRESS OF LESSOR 

 
EQUIPMENT  DESCRIPTION 

STARTING DATE 

OF LEASE 

COST AT 

START DATE 

    
    

    

    

    

    

    

    

    

    

    
 

ATTACH SEPARATE SHEET(S) IF NECESSARY 
 

Business Change Form 
 

            Business Name Account 
 

Owner Telephone 
 

Mailing Address 

Physical Address 

Contact Person 

Telephone E-Mail 

 
CHANGE OF ADDRESS       Mailing  Location 

 
Previous Address __________________ 

New Address  When _____________________ 

BUSINESS NAME CHANGED 
 

Previous Name 

New Name 

SOLD BUSINESS 
 

Date Business Sold Business at Same Location? Yes No 

Who has Possession of Equipment? 

CLOSED BUSINESS 
 

Date Business Ceased Operating: Business License Cancelled? Yes No 

What Happened to the Equipment? 

FILED BANKRUPTCY 
 

What is the Case Number? Status of Filing 
 

Date of Bankruptcy Business in Operation? Yes No 
 

Utah Code: 59-2-307- ... Each person who fails to file the signed statement shall pay a penalty equal to 10% of the estimated tax due, but 
not less than $25 for each failure to file a signed and completed statement. The penalty imposed by this section may not be waived or 
reduced by the assessor, county commission, or county board of equalization. 

http://www.webercountyutah.gov/Assessor/pproperty.php


 2021 PERSONAL PROPERTY VALUATION SCHEDULE

Year Acquired Percent Good Year Acquired Percent Good

2020 62% 2020 76% Year Acquired Percent Good

2019 46% 2019 44% 2020 97% Medical & Dental Equipment:

2018 21% 2018 & prior 11% 2019 92% Specialized Equipment used in Medical 

2017 9% Property is highly susceptible to 2018 83% Profession & Health Care Industry 

2016 & prior 7% breakage, loss and rapid wear & tear. 2017 75% Examples of Property Include: 

Examples of Property Include: Examples of Property Include: 2016 67% Beds - Medical

CAD/CAM Systems Bath Mats 2015 59% Dental Equipment & Instruments 

Data Processing Equipment  Computer Software 2014 49% Electrolysis Machines, Medical

Data Processing Peripherals  Library Materials/Books 2013 40% Exam Tables & Chairs  

LAN Systems Molds  2012 31% Eye Examination Equipment - Medical

Mainframe Computers Motel/Hotel Linen & Towels 2011 22% Hospital Equipment  

Personal Computers Motion Picture Prints 2010 & prior 12% Lensometer - Medical  

Plotters Patterns, Jigs & Dies Machinery & Equipment: Lenses - Medical

Copiers Plants, Decorative Machinery & tooling used in production Medical Equipment & Instruments 

Copy, Fax, Printer Combination Pots & Pans and processing industries. Equipment Mesoptomers  

Printer/Copy Machines Utensils & Silverware used in service industries such as Microscopes  

POS Systems-Non Manual Wood Pallets service stations, laundry & dry cleaning, Nitrous Oxide Systems and Tanks

Thermal Printer cleaning, and bulk petroleum  distributors Optical Equipment & Instruments 

Examples of Property Include: Sterilizers - Medical  

Air Compressors Surgiscope - Medical

Amusement Rides Thermometer - Medical

Year Acquired Percent Good Year Acquired Percent Good Automotive Tools X-Ray Machines 

2020 96% 2020 90% Bakery Equipment Bottling Veterinary Instruments & Equipment  

2019 88% 2019 74% Bowling Equipment 

2018 78% 2018 55% Brew/Distillery Equipment 

2017 67% 2017 37% Cannery Equipment

2016 58% 2016 & prior 18% Carpet Cleaners Equipment Year Acquired Percent Good

2015 47% Data Processing Equipment, Car Wash Equipment 2020 51%

2014 35% Electronic Type of Equipment, Clothes Washers & Dryers 2019 49%

2013 24% including Office Machines subject Conveyors 2018 48%

2012 & prior 13% to severe wear & tear  Darkroom Equipment 2017 46%

Non-mechanical furniture & trade fixtures Examples of Property Include: Drill Rigs-Non Petroleum  2016 42%

Examples of Property Include: Accounting Machines  Dry Cleaning Machines 2015 40%

Auditorium & Theater Seats  Alarm Systems  Food Preparation Equipment 2014 38%

Awnings Candy Machines  Generators 2013 36%

Bars & Sinks (Portable) Cash Registers  Golf Carts 2012 34%

BBQs/Fireplaces  Coin-Op Vending Machines Incinerators 2011 32%

Beauty/Barber Shop Fixtures  Drive-Up Windows (Bank) Kilns-Dry & Tunnel 2010 29%

Booths, Tables & Chairs Drones Kitchen Appliances 2009 25%

Cabinets & Shelves (Portable) Fax Machines  Lawn Mowers 2008 23%

Cashier’s Island Microwave Communications Equip. Lube Systems & Devices 2007 & prior 15%

Check Out Counters Music/Stereo Systems & Radios Machine Shop Equipment Mobile Machinery used in the 

Decorations Reservation Terminals  Manufacturing Machinery construction & quarry industry, as well 

Display–Cases & Racks (Non Refrigerated) Shopping Carts  Meat Packing Equipment as equipment used in the processing of 

Exercise Equipment Small Equipment Rental Milling Plant Equipment construction materials. 

Furniture- All Types Sound Systems  Mortuary Equipment Examples of Property Include: 

Garbage Containers Surveillance Camera/TV Piping - Industrial Asphalt Equipment 

Framing Telephone Systems & Equip. Commercial Presses and Printing Backhoes & Front Loaders

Motel/Hotel Beds and Furniture Typewriters        Equipment  Batch Plants 

Mobile Offices Video Game Machines  Processing Equipment Cement Batch Plants 

Office and Concession Trailers Pumps- Air, Water, Fuel Concrete/Cement Forms- Heavy Duty

Movable Partitions  Refrigerated Display Cases Compaction Equipment 

Movie Screens  Refrigeration Equipment Cranes-Construction 

Musical Instruments  Sanders and Saws Excavators 

Signs, Mechanical & Electrical Service Station Equipment Graders 

*LED Component of a billboard Sewing Machine Loaders 

Tanning Booths  Shoe Repair Machinery Log Skidders & Loaders 

Televisions Ski Lift Machinery Pavers 

Water Slides  Smelter Equipment Scrapers 

Snow Removal Equipment Snow Cats 

Submerged Pumps Sweepers

Tools - Hand and Power

Wheel Alignment & Balancing     

      Equipment  

Welders 

Woodworking Equipment

*Continued 

Heavy Equipment

 *Continued

Medical & Dental Equipment

Continued on Back

Furniture & Trade Fixtures Short Life Equipment

PROPERTY CODE 10 PROPERTY CODE 15

Machinery & Equipment and 

PROPERTY CODE 20 PROPERTY CODE 20
Machinery & Equipment and 

PROPERTY CODE 30

Medical & Dental Equipment

PROPERTY CODE 150 PROPERTY CODE 155
Computer Hardware Short Life Property



 2021 PERSONAL PROPERTY VALUATION SCHEDULE

Year Acquired Percent Good Year Acquired Percent Good Year Acquired Percent Good Year Acquired Percent Good

2021 & prior 100% 2020 $15.00 2019 & prior $3.00 2020 97%

Cost should include sales tax/freight Examples of Property Include: Examples of Property Include: 2019 96%

Examples of Property Include: Rental Video Tapes, CDs, DVDs, Rental Video Tapes, CDs, DVDs,  2018 94%

Maintenance & Cleaning supplies, Blu-Ray and computer games Blu-Ray and computer games 2017 89%

fuel, replacement parts, oil, office 2016 86%

supplies 2015 83%

2014 77%

2013 73%

2012 65%

Year Acquired Percent Good Year Acquired Percent Good Year Acquired Percent Good 2011 64%

2020 90% 2020 75% 2020 96% 2010 59%

2019 74% 2019 50% 2019 86% 2009 58%

2018 56% 2018 25% 2018 74% 2008 54%

2017 38% 2017 & prior 0% 2017 62% 2007 47%

2016 20% Please visit our website for more 2016 51% 2006 40%

2015 & prior 4% Information on this class of property 2015 40% 2005 32%

Examples of Property Include: 2014 26% 2004 24%

Aircraft Tools and Dies A piece of equipment, machinery, furniture, 2013 & prior 13% 2003 16%

Aircraft Manufacturing  or other piece of tangible personal property Machinery which cannot operate 2002 & prior 8%

Aircraft Manufacture & Test Equip that is functioning at its highest and best independently from the computer Property having a long physical life. 

Aircraft Molds  use for the purpose it was designated and system. Machinery & computer Examples of Property Include: 

Aircraft Patterns  constructed and is generally capable of sold as a single unit.  *Billboards (excluding LED component) 

Aircraft Taps and Gauges performing that function without being Examples of Property Include: Grain Elevators - Non-Farm 

combined with other items of personal Computerized Assembly Machinery Pipelines  

property. Non-capitalized property is an item Computer Driven Mills Radio Towers  

that has been totally expensed or written Computer Integrated Fabrication Sign Towers  

off in the year of acquisition.       Machinery Ski Lift & Tram Towers 

Year Acquired Percent Good 1. Has an acquisition cost of $1,000 or MRI Equipment Surface Tanks  

2020 95% less Computerized Machine Lathes Towers - Cell Phone, Broadcast 

2019 88% 2. Is claimed as allowed on a federal tax CAT Scanners Underground Tanks  

2018 82% return as a deductible expense under Gamma Camera Systems Wind Powered Electrical 

2017 74% Section 162 or Section 179, Internal Digital Movie Projection Equipment Generators/Equipment/Towers  

2016 67% Revenue Code, in the year of acquisition Ultrasound (Sonograph) Equipment 

2015 61% 3. All classes of property qualify for the Mammography Units *Only billboard signage should be 

2014 55% election to class 28 (Non-Capitalized Digital X-Ray Machines classified Long Life. For all other signage, 

2013 46% Personal Property) Other Computer Integrated Machinery including the LED component of a 

2012 40% billboard, see property code 10. 

2011 35%

2010 28%

2009 20%

2008 & prior 11%

Equipment used in the petroleum & gas Year Acquired Percent Good Percent Good Percent Good

exploration and production industry 2020 41% Year less Residential Year less Residential 

Examples of Property Include: 2019 28% Acquired Exemption Acquired Exemption

Distillation Equipment  2018 14% 2020 53% 2020 52%

Drill Rigs 2017 & prior 0% 2019 51% 2019 48%

Gas Lines-Petroleum Equipment must  qualify for class 28 AND 2018 47% 2018 43%

Holding & Storage Facilities be used exclusively within a dwelling 2017 41% 2017 37%

Metering Devices unit  that is a primary resident of a tenant.  2016 37% 2016 32%

Petroleum Pumping Units  2015 32% 2015 25%

Re-Injection Equipment 2014 26% 2014 19%

Wellhead Assemblies  2013 22% 2013 13%

Well Site Generators Year Acquired Percent Good 2012 17% 2012 & prior 7%

2020 47% 2011 12% Furniture & Trade Fixtures used 

2019 34% 2010 & prior 7% exclusively within a dwelling

2018 24% Machinery & Equipment used unit that is a primary resident

2017 15% exclusively within a dwelling of a tenant.

2016 & prior 6% unit that is a primary resident Examples of Property Include: 

Examples of Property Include: of a tenant. Furniture - Couches/Chairs

Clean Room Equipment Examples of Property Include: Household Furnishings

Chemical & Gas Systems Microwave Oven

Crystal Growing Equipment Refrigerators/Freezers

Deionized Water Systems Washers and Dryers

Encapsulation Equipment Window Mount Air Conditioners

Photo Mask & Wafer Equip.  

PROPERTY CODE 13
Semiconductor Manufacturing

Non-Capitalized Equipment

PROPERTY CODE 28
Computer Integrated Machinery

PROPERTY CODE 230

Exploration and Prod. Equip. 

PROPERTY CODE 203

PROPERTY CODE 105

PROPERTY CODE 400
Rental Media

PROPERTY CODE 100
Supplies

PROPERTY CODE 12

Long Life Property

For more classification examples, please refer to the link listed below.  
https://propertytax.utah.gov/personal/classification-guide/

PROPERTY CODE 285
Non-Capitalized Equipment Used 

for Residential Purposes

PROPERTY CODE 214

Furniture & Trade Fixtures Used for 

Residential Purposes

Household Machinery & Equip 

Used for Residential Purposes

PROPERTY CODE 205

PROPERTY CODE 401
Rental Media

Aircraft/Manufacturing Tools & Dies

Petroleum & Natural Gas 

https://propertytax.utah.gov/personal/classification-guide/
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